top of page

Primary Sources

Dr. Kayla Covert- Baylor Scott & White

Dr. Dwain Robertson- Baylor Scott & White

Dr. Krishna Satyan- Dallas Neurosurgical & Spine

Mentor Visit #1

Mentor Visit #2

Mentor Visit #3

Mentor Visit #4

Post: Files

Secondary Sources

 Role of lifestyle in Neuroplasticity and Neurogenesis in an Aging Brain

Autoimmune Neurology: The Need for Comprehensive Care

Download

Tackling challenges in care of Alzheimer’s disease and other dementias amid the COVID-19 pandemic, now and in the future

Download

A review of seizures and epilepsy following traumatic brain injury

Download

Beneficial Effects of Exercise on Depression and Anxiety During the Covid-19 Pandemic

Biomarkers of Sports-Related Concussions

Exercise for Sport-Related Concussion and Persistent Postconcussive Symptoms

The Relationship between Sport-Related Concussion and Sensation-Seeking

Social decision making in autism: On the impact of mirror neurons, motor control, and imitative behaviors

Cognitive Control in Pediatric Obsessive-Compulsive and Anxiety Disorders: Brain-Behavioral Targets for Early Intervention

Perceived Social Support and Quality of Life of Parents of Children with Autism

Post: Files
Search
  • Writer's pictureLeela Oommen

Learning Curve

10/25/21

This week in ISM I learned about biomarkers used to predict how long concussion recovery may take in athletes. I discovered that plasma biomarkers such as low Glial Fibrillary Acidic Protein and high Total Tau were associated with a longer period of recovery. This experimental biomarker research is crucial for concussion protocol, as it can help estimate when return to play is possible for professional athletes. Moreover, as these biomarker studies are still in their early stages, this is something I can try to research even more so that I can possibly in the future work to find other potential biomarkers. I was successful this week in that I bettered my understanding of current concussion research. On the other hand, a challenge I faced this week was that I scheduled an interview, and it did not end up following through. Although I was upset about this, I will try to overcome this unfortunate occurrence by reaching out to a lot more doctors to hopefully try to schedule another interview. I know this will not be the first time an interview does not end up happening for me, so I can not let myself get down about it. Through my two research assessments this week, I found more information I can incorporate into my original work project!


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page